Osun State Governorship election declared inconclusive

Senator Ademola Adeleke of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has scored the highest number of votes in the just concluded Osun State Governorship election. In an extremely close race, he scored merely 353 more votes than his closest rival Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress by netting 254,698 against APC’s 254,345.

Adeleke however could not be declared winner of the election due to the electoral requirement that the difference between the winner and the runner up of an election must exceed the number of votes cancelled at polling units.

Announcing the results, INEC presiding officer, Joseph Fuwape disclosed that a total of 3,498 votes were cancelled and as such a return could not be declared.

The Social Democratic Party had 128,749 while the ADP and ADC had 49,744 and 6981 votes respectively.

The two leading candidates would now have to wait until the outcome of a run off election whose date will be announced soon.

INEC’s election guideline made pursuant to Section 153 of the Electoral Act stipulates a rerun if the margin of victory in an election is lower than the number of voters in units where elections are cancelled.
In that case, rerun will hold in areas where elections are cancelled.

The announcement by INEC came shortly after the Adeleke campaign organisation appealed to election body not to declare the election inconclusive.

More details to follow…

, , ,